Oh brother…..

About a week ago, I was lurking on Facebook waiting for Dork A to get on so we could chat. She didn’t show up online, so I sent her a text message. She didn’t have her laptop at home, so we decided to text instead. It was about 11PM. I remembered that I had sent more texts than usual, so I got online to check my usage while I was “talking” to her. I still had plenty of usage left, or so I thought.

I looked at the options for increasing the number of text messages so I wouldn’t have to worry about overages. I had 80 out of 200 text messages left. No biggie, since I don’t (didn’t) text that much. My plan charges $.10 for each extra text message, or $15.00 a month for 1500 texts sent and received. Don’t forget it was 11PM…. somehow in doing the math, I figured that 1500 messages at $.10 each was $15.00. That meant that any overages wouldn’t cost me any more than upgrading the plan, so I didn’t bother to upgrade.  DOH!!! I am usually very good at math. That day, not so much.

The really funny thing is that I didn’t even realize my mistake then. I realized it a few days later, as we were getting in her car to escape for an evening. Dork A was very highly entertained by my foolishness.

I got my wireless bill online today. Ahem.

My total bill was about $15.00 more than it had been previously. Not because I had changed my texting options, but because I had sent 151 messages more than my plan allowed. At $.10 each.

I scrolled through the list of text message numbers to make sure I recognized the numbers. I had to scroll through more than two pages just to Dork A. Oh brother.

This entry was posted in Totally random. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh brother…..

  1. Amy says:

    Ha! So I thought I was sooo smart. With my fancy unlimited texts on my phone plan. Then I goy MY bill. It was about $30 more than normal. WHAT???!!!! Only to find out I do not, in fact, have unlimited texts … Whoooppps! Do, I went to my online bill to see what my current texts were for the month. Ummm- I was ALREADY 89 texts over for the month with 14 days left inthe billing cycle. Thank God they let you backdate new features…

Leave a Reply

