Music of the moment

One of the things Dork A and I have in common is the need to have music playing whenever possible. Many people take me for a classical music type of person, but in actuality I’m more of a classic rock fan. Dork A has expanded my horizons with quite a bit of pop music – something I never used to like. Something we both do is make new playlists on a regular basis, generally once a month. One of the stranger traits we share is the desire to listen to the same song over and over when we first add it to our libraries. That’s one of the ways I know we’re kindred spirits – it drives most people crazy! Rock, alternative rock, folk, and now some popular music mix with some just plain weird stuff that I happen to like. Thought I’d share a few of my current favorites, with highlights of lyrics on some:

According to You – Orianthi:  an in-your-face rebuttal….

Glitter in the Air – P!nk:   I like all P!nk, but I particularly love this song, and it ends up on nearly every playlist.  Some of the lyrics

…”Have you ever thrown a fistful of glitter in the air? Have you ever looked fear in the face and said I just don’t care… It’s only half past the point of no return, the tip of the iceberg, the sun before the burn, the thunder before the lightning, and the breath before the phrase. Have you ever felt this way?…”

King of Anything – Sara Bareilles   Anyone who has experienced conflict with an ex will appreciate this one…

Why Worry – Dire Straits:

“…baby, I’ll wipe away those bitter tears.  I’ll chase away those restless fears, that turn your blue skies into grey. Why worry…there should be laughter after pain, there should be sunshine after rain, these things have always been the same, so why worry now?”

Sing Me Sweet – Matt Nathanson:  I first discovered him when “Come on Get Higher” came out – it’s a catchy tune. When listening to some of his other music, though, I found that there is a wonderful depth to many of his lyrics.

“…Sing me sweet.  Sing me low.  Say you’ll never let me go.  ’cause I’ve gone long enough waiting for wonderful….”

Just the Way You Are – Bruno Mars:   A popular music song with lyrics that many women would love to hear from the man in their lives.

“….when I see your face, there’s not a thing that I would change, because you’re amazing, just the way you are. And when you smile, the whole world stops and stares for awhile….”

Yeah, I wouldn’t mind hearing that.

All relatively happy songs this time. My playlists are usually about 30 songs, so you don’t get the full picture, but these are my favorites from October. Working on November’s now – I’ll share after I listen to it enough to decide which ones are hits for the next month 🙂

This entry was posted in Music, Totally random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

