Student teaching, plus thankful!

This morning I met my cooperating teachers for student teaching. I have a lead teacher with whom I will primarily work, and a second teacher for whom I will teach one section of general biology. They have very different personalities and classroom styles, but I think I will work well with both of them. The experience is going to cover everything from special education team teaching to AP biology at the end of the semester. I am looking forward to it, although the time I will have to get up in the morning is horrendous!

It will be much as I predicted. The school is about 30 minutes from my house. Teachers must be at school by 7:15, but I will want to be there by 7 AM at the absolute latest, and preferably by 6:45. I don’t like to get up at 6:45, and I have to be out of the house by then!

Ugh.

Oh well, I’ll have to adjust one way or another. When I visited Andy last week (good grief, was it really just last week? It seems like way too long ago for it to be just a week!), he commented that he couldn’t figure out what was taking me so long to get ready in the morning…

That’s funny, because I can’t figure out what takes me so long either. Except that I lose track of what I’m doing in the middle of things.

Like washing my hair. My mind starts to wander, and I think I just stand there sometimes. I’m not entirely sure, because I am so out of it in the morning.

I can go into my closet to find something to wear and stand there wondering what I am doing. It’s pathetic, really.

My short term memory is not terrific at the best of times, but nonexistent in the morning. I spend more time looking for things I have set down than I actually do getting ready. It’s probably funny to others, as long as they aren’t waiting for me. I can imagine that it’s pretty frustrating if you are waiting for me. You’re safer just not seeing me in action in the morning.

Or not in action, as the case may be.

I am going to take an idea from Alicia at Pedals and Pencils and continue thankful posts once a week. She calls it Thankful Thursday, and since it’s Thursday today, well, why not? Today I am thankful for:

  • cooperating teachers who are enthusiastic about having me as their student teacher
  • really awesome song lyrics (this will be a whole post eventually)
  • friends who love me even though I’m weird
  • poetry, especially like Alicia’s!
  • my boys. I don’t tell them often enough that I would be lost without them.
  • good health and improving fitness
  • a renewed interest in knitting after several years
  • Mr. Buck, who taught me to write many years ago!
This entry was posted in Being Thankful, Generally awesome things, School and such. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Student teaching, plus thankful!

  1. stuckinmypedals says:

    Oh, man, I’m the same way in the morning. On weekdays I have a timer in the bathroom because I swear the shower is some sort of weird crack in the time space continuum. I get in there and zip!-three days have passed. So, I set the timer and when it dings, I know I’d better quit daydreaming and rinse my hair if I want to make it to work on time.

  2. cr8df8 says:

    Dear Friend I Don’t Know Yet,
    Thank you from a very tender place for the encouragement you left on my blog. I can’t tell you how much it touches me when someone, who has no idea who I am, takes the time to encourage when they don’t have to. I have found a blogging space to be one that makes me think a little bit harder about what I say because the saying needs to be accessible to anyone who may pass by, but also needs to express whatever is in there.

    I do my Daily Gratitudes…perhaps I will do them on my blog. It’s a good practice! And your lost track of time…oh boy, so with you. And knitting – YAY!

    Aloha!

    • cr8df8 says:

      I forgot to tell you: I LOVE THE NAME OF YOUR BLOG! I am totally an awesome dork πŸ™‚ Dorkness is the height of how one can traverse through life without taking one’s self too seriously, enjoying the scenery, and making some fast friends along the way.

Leave a Reply

