Zumba!! then Kopp’s…

My friend Brooke teaches Zumba, which is a Latin dance-inspired aerobic workout. It sounded like fun, so I decided to give her class a try this morning. Oh my gosh, it was so much fun! Getting the steps etc. down was tricky, but the music has such a good beat that it’s easy to get into it. I don’t know if it would have been as much fun if somebody else had taught it – Brooke is a wild woman, with a great sense of humor. I will definitely try to go every week. It is also an incredible workout: an hour of fairly intense cardio, which of course meant that my face was bright red.

I don’t know exactly what it is about my body, but every time I do strenuous exercise my face turns red. Really red. Like fire engine red. Glowing, even. Often people will ask me if I’m okay. Yes, I am fine, just hot pink. One of the women in the class said I should have a t-shirt made that says, “yes, I’m fine!” Brooke said that she was a bit worried during class – I hadn’t warned her ahead of time that this often happens. Fair skin, capillaries near the surface of my skin, and warmth just do not mix well!

Since I had such a good workout, I decided to splurge on Kopp’s today. Kopp’s is a frozen custard place in Milwaukee. They make arguably the best frozen custard on the planet, and along with the standard chocolate and vanilla, they have two “flavors of the day” each day. Today, in honor of the Superbowl tomorrow, they had a flavor called “The Freezer.” The base custard flavor was chocolate cake batter, with added marshmallow Fluff ribbon, fudge, chocolate chip cookie dough, and pieces of chocolate cake. Rich, rich, rich. Caleb and I each had a dish, then moaned and groaned all the way home. It was yummy, although it will not replace my favorite: Never Enough Chocolate is my favorite, although I am also very fond of Double Truffel. Obviously my favorites contain chocolate. A lot of chocolate.

Which is as it should be.

This entry was posted in Exercise!, Generally awesome things, Totally random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

