Further (mis)Adventures in Skiing, and the Teaching Takeover

The weather in Wisconsin has been very warm for the past few days: it actually reached 50 degrees one day, when the average high is closer to 30 degrees. This of course means that the snow is quickly disappearing. Unlike many other Wisconsin residents, I am sad when the snow starts to go, especially this early in the season. I have bike fever, but I’m not ready to totally give up skiing for this winter!

To take advantage of the remaining snow, I went skiing at Riveredge this afternoon, right after school. The weather was fine, but the trails were icy and crusty. They weren’t horrible until I got to a lightly traveled area, and then I pretty much hiked through the woods on my skis. There was very little gliding, and a whole lot of stepping over branches and around trees. One section had only been snowshoed, so there wasn’t a ski trail, but I managed. This time was fun, just like last time was, but I had a little mishap again…

The trails were packed and slick, so any downhill area was very tricky. More tricky than usual, since I am not good at hills anyway. There was one lovely straight section with a downhill slope that I thought would be fine.

Except. (not again!…)

It was super slick, so it was hard to slow down with any control. I fell and landed weird. Nothing is broken, but my shoulder is sore. I actually fell quite a lot today, which bothers me less and less, as long as I don’t have an audience. Good athletes learn how to fall properly, right? That may be the closest I ever get to being called a good athlete. 🙂

On a totally different subject, I took over teaching duties for my two individually taught classes this week. There have been a couple of instances of students trying to push me, but they are learning when to back off. I truly enjoy all of the students in both classes, even the difficult students. I love being back in front of the classroom! My first love is the subject of biology, but teaching is a close second. Most of the students have accepted me as the teacher without any qualms, but there are a couple who prefer the routine of their regular teachers. We’ll get used to each other.

 

This entry was posted in Generally awesome things, School and such, Skiing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

