Gross (but interesting) science

I wrote in an earlier post that I had tadpoles from my zoology class, but I don’t remember if I have updated anything about the frogs. Only one tadpole made it to frog-hood, but he seems to be doing very well. He is about 2-3 inches long, and swims happily around the tank. Algae was building up on the tank walls, so I got the frog a friend- a plecostomus that’s about three inches long. I also picked up some water plants to decorate and aerate the tank a little.

One of the very odd things about African clawed frogs is that they have no webs on their front feet, and their forelimbs seem very short: they can barely touch the tips together in front of their faces. Here’s a photo of him (or her, as the case may be) today:And another:So here’s the gross (but interesting) part… These frogs shed their skin as they mature, and if you’re lucky you get to see it. It happens very quickly, and the frog contorts itself to remove the skin, almost like he’s fighting to remove a straightjacket. The gross part (to some people) is that they often immediately eat the skin. I don’t think it’s gross, but if I did, even gross science is cool: the skin is a perfect source of protein for the growing frog.

A friend sent me the following comic in appreciation for science weirdness…

Beauty

This entry was posted in Generally awesome things, School and such, Science!. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

